Home

734159_576176589103583_1030393231_nSo I just woke up from my nap. It’s been a long week. As of Monday I will have been in North Dakota for a whole week. I’ve seen plenty of towns/cities here. Fargo was flat and bustling. There are gates on the highways to close them if the weather gets to bad. It’s currently raining in Bismark. I’ve not found postcards anywhere around here, so my contest winner from my Facebook page will have to get a substitute postcard I think.

Yesterday we were in Garrison which is a tiny little town. The school owner was really nice. I got a hoodie from him. Joefer and I stopped off at the Ye Olde Malt Shoppe and Eatery as it was one of the only places in town to eat. With a population of 1,500 there wasn’t much to see. A lot of the towns are very industrial, mostly railroad tracks, silos and such. That small town actually has a tiny movie theater and the school owner told me that every year they have a Dicken’s Christmas Festival. It sounded really awesome. He said that they all dress up in old timey clothes and put on a play of Charles Dicken’s A Christmas Carol. He said that once upon a time they had a dairy queen, but it didn’t last as the food was horrible and the patrons around there found that a good home cooked meal was best. If it ain’t broke, don’t fix it. I had a chocolate malt at the malt shoppe, and it was quite delicious. Joefer and I split some nachos and a salad.

Grand Forks was relatively small, but not quite as small as Garrison. Garrison had zero hotels or places to stay, so we ended up staying in Minot and driving the hour to Garrison the following day. I will tell you that as much as I have enjoyed the people and the experience here in North Dakota, again, I am ready to return home. People walk around here in hoodies, capris and sleeveless shirts like it’s 60-70 degrees out, when in actuality it’s only 20 or below. I think you can tell the outsiders, because we are the ones that are really bundled up.

The shoot here went far longer than expected and so most of my day was wasted and I didn’t accomplish what I wanted to. I still need to do laundry and what not, but I will tell you, getting up at 7:00 a.m. and then getting to the shoot at 8:30 a.m. and not being done until a little after 4:00 p.m. I was exhausted. I wanted this particular blog to be much more thought out but after the long hours and driving, I just couldn’t get it organized. Instead I just start typing.

Joefer and I woke up at 4:00 a.m. the morning before the Garrison shoot to get Cody to the airport. I didn’t go to the airport, my job was to simply wake up and make sure that they were up. Three people have quit during the busiest season of the year and has left us really short handed. Originally I was scheduled to come home the day before Thanksgiving and be off until December 4th, but that changed. Now I am leaving again on December 2nd and gone until probably the 18th. However, I wont work again until January sometime. The season will slow down quite a bit after this. I am looking forward to that time at home. The lack of money won’t be great, but the time spent with my family will make up for it.

I have another shoot here in Bismarck tomorrow then it is back to Minot to finish up that one. We have a lot of stuff to get together and sent off after that. Then it is on the road to Indiana, which I am hoping is much, much warmer, but not counting on it. I did receive the good news that at least next month I will be in Georgia and Florida. Originally we were supposed to go to Maryland, Virginia, Pennsylvania, and Georgia, but as it happens with this job, things change. I am just thankful I will be going more south and it will be considerably warmer there.

I’ve discovered that Chinese food in North Dakota is nothing to write home about. I miss the fried rice in South City, St. Louis. I know I had some more stuff to talk about, but I lost my train of thought… Uh…well today was Rose Montague’s launch party, but I was only able to pop in a few times. I couldn’t participate in any of the games 😦 At least I got to interact a little. So proud of her, and I’ve been reading the book and it is really really good!

Oh, yeah, and I have 53 likes on the facebook blog page, really, I hope you all keep them coming. I have so many giveaways to do. I have a giveaway at 100 likes, one at 500, and at 1,000 I am giving away $100.00. As I’ve said before, keep reading, keep subscribing, and come like the facebook page:

http://www.facebook.com/eadavisblog

4 thoughts on “North Dakota…Away You GO

Leave a Reply

