Home

Okay, so recently I posted an update on my recent job. Let’s start at the beginning shall we…So one day I decide that I need a new job and I was a bit tired of customer service. I wanted something new and to get back from behind the desk. I frantically search the numerous categories on Craigslist.com to see what is new and desirable. Alas, I come upon an ad in Columbia, MO that is for a traveling photographer, and a phone number. Now, I was suspect at first so I google the number to make sure this is a legit company and then visit the BBB to further confirm. It sounded too good to be true.

The potential to make $40,000.00 a year and see a big part of the country, no way. Yes, it was legit. I called them and they called me in for an interview. I live two hours away from Columbia mind you, but I figured it was worth the risk. I go in for my interview and before I even complete the interview process the boss has decided that he wants to hire me, and due to a person quitting that very morning they needed me right away, and by that, I mean that very evening. I drove the two hours home to pack, unsure of what to pack or how long I would be gone. I did not pack well and I would like to think that I have learned better since then.

The boss man and a girl named Tiffany come to pick me up at about 2:30 a.m. on a Wednesday. We are on our way to New Jersey. Hard to think that I was going to New Jersey…but I was. It all happened so fast. So what kind of photography do we do? We go to martial arts studios/schools around the country and capture different poses that are then cut out by a graphic artist and superimposed onto a cool background making a truly unique piece of memorable art for the parent and/or student. Of course there are sales involved, which turns out I am pretty darn good at.

I wasn’t sure what to think of Tiffany at first, but we got along great, and she is a really sweet person. After, New Jersey we went to Rhode Island. I saw many states in-between. However, during our time in Rhode Island something happens and the plans get changed. I was supposed to be in Maine next, but it turns out I have to return and I will be on a different run with some unknown person, and no boss. I wasn’t ready yet, I still hadn’t trained on camera work, and I was just really starting to like Tiffany. Of course they both laughed at my ridiculous need to take pictures of everything I saw, practically. You must realize though, I have not traveled outside of Saint Louis much at all in my life, and definitely not as an adult. I had certainly never been to the north eastern states. I will have to elaborate more on these experiences another time, because there are lots of great stories to tell, but for now I will just get down to the basics.

I was at home for a bit and then I was off with Haydan to Sarasota, FL and to the beautiful Siesta Key Beach that we visited during our time there. It was amazing. After Florida we went to Bentonville, AR…which ironically enough I fell in love with. Then it was to Texarkana, TX only to find out that shoot had been cancelled and back home we went. I’ve been home since Friday, and have been recovering from a horrible sprained ankle that occurred during this run. I really do enjoy this job, though I miss my kids, family, and friends terribly. I don’t know how long I can do it, but I will enjoy it in the meantime.

1267542_10201639789694071_441204989_o

7 thoughts on “Where Have I Been? Where Haven’t I Been.

  1. Such a good job eh. You’re lucky to have it. To be compensated while traveling and witness scenic sights. I died. hahha. really, I envy you. cos i’m an office girl and sits from 8:00 to 5:00 5 days a week. yay! but homesickness really, it gets to our nerves. snap! I enjoyed your blog.

    • Thank you, I really appreciate your comment. For the longest time, I too had an office job working the daily grind. This job as glamorous as it may sound does have plenty of pitfalls but I will agree I am lucky to have it, if even just for awhile. The experience alone is worth it. I’ve seen lots of things, met lots of great people, and have just really enjoyed the overall experience.

Leave a Reply

