Home

539687_10201336290906791_1571170674_nWell…hello, again. I know it’s been a few days since my last blog so I wanted to tell you about last night. Last night I attended the movie premiere of Hercules the Brave and the Bold at the Galaxy 14 Cine in Chesterfield, MO. My eldest daughter, my friend Jeff Fuller, and I were extras in the film. Let me tell you how this came to be…

I’ve always had a bucket list of things that I have wanted to do before I die. Many of them include traveling to far off places, mostly out of the United States. However, one of those items on my list included being in a movie. I remember as a child in the fifth grade a boy in my class named Danny told us how he was an extra in the movie King of the Hill. As he recounted his experience of eating a sandwich in one of the scenes I tried to visualize what that must have been like. Yes, I was a little jealous actually.

I had always wondered how such things happen to people, and I realized as I got older that you have to make experiences happen. They, unfortunately, do not just come knocking on your door. When I was twelve, I was interviewed by Scott Connell, the weather man on the channel five news, because I had won an art contest. But it still wasn’t a movie.

I then had the fortunate experience of working for a place called Market Probe, or as we liked to call it, “hell.” That place was good for meeting people and I made some great friends there. At some point during my two years with the company, Chelsea Zotta came to work there. She was a smart, vibrant, lady who had taken to acting. She eventually moved out to Los Angeles and I followed her via social media and IMBD. I became curious about a movie called Hercules the Brave and the Bold that was listed on her page as, “In production,” and investigated the movie. I saw it was being filmed here in St. Louis, by a very young and ambitious director, David Malone. He was a teenager whom had started the project when he was about 16 years old that carried it into a feature film length movie. On the the movie’s website there was a call for extras. Knowing my daughter is an aspiring actress herself I decided to sign us up.

I got the email from the director telling us to show up for the extras meeting in St. Charles, and due to the state of my vehicle I had asked my friend Jeff if he would take us. He agreed and when we got there I said, “Hey, why don’t you see if they still need extras, Jeff. You could be in it too.” So he did. That is how the three of us became unnamed Gods/Goddesses on Mt. Olympus. The movie certainly had some laugh out loud moments, and I didn’t fall asleep so that is good. I think it was a good start for Mr. Malone and I was honored to be a part of it.

We arrived at the theatre yesterday, ready to walk the red carpet. Of course Jade was getting antsy, she doesn’t like waiting. It was nice to see everyone again, and looking so nice. My friends Kris and Brian showed up bearing gifts of popcorn, and candy. Kris got some pictures of us and it was just all around fun. Jade was nervous about her walk down the carpet and wasn’t as prepared as she had thought about the flashing camera lights in her eyes. It could be a once in a lifetime experience for me, but I was happy to have done it.

Image

Leave a Reply

