Home

images (2)I read a news article recently that involved a single mother going through a tough divorce, that was caught stealing baby items to care for her two young children. Though I do not condone stealing I can sort of understand the need. Here is the thing, let me just say that I am seriously going through a financial hardship right now. My husband and I just filed bankruptcy, but we have to figure out how we are going to pay the rest of our bills. When the need becomes so great and desperation sinks in, what do you do?

The police officers that detained and arrested the woman, although she was let go was presented with a box of the items that she was trying to shoplift, purchased by the officers. However, the Kmart that she took the items from was not so forgiving and now she needs to pay up a $50.00 fine.

I watch these tragedies on the news over and over about people robbing banks and stealing. I couldn’t personally do such a thing, or at least I don’t think so. I depend on the power of prayer and friends, and any other legit resources to help when times are tough. We have been blessed to have some help, but sometimes that help is just not available and when you are worried that you may lose everything it’s really hard.

Then of course is the criticism, “Well, why did you do this, why did you do that. If you had done this…” In hindsight, yes, we could’ve made different decisions, but I cannot predict my future. I do the best I can do and run with it. I accept the mistakes I have made and I try to do my best to recover. Nobody is perfect.

The reality of the situation for others is that I know a lot of people who are not parents and are struggling and they get next to no help whatsoever. I do understand that people with families in some ways are in much greater need, such as myself as my family is quite large, but does that mean that single persons do not deserve help? There are a million questions that plague me when it comes to helping Americans in need. Someone needs to start a charity for those other Americans in need that perhaps do not have families, but have been laid off from their jobs, lost their jobs, etc. I am trying desperately to change my situation, and I suspect that many others are as well, but it is not as easy as it looks.

I know several people that do not know the first thing about making a resume or a cover letter, they do not own any kind of business attire, casual or formal, and do not understand the way to prepare for an interview. With so many Americans out of jobs and at a loss for prospects to fix their situation, what can we do? I’ve settled for a part-time position at a measly $8.50 an hour, that does not help my family much at all, but money is money. At least I am trying to contribute.

If you find yourself in a tough spot financially there are options. Google local resources in your area and call each and every one of them until someone can help with something. Some only work with you on utilities, others can provide rental assistance, others are simply food pantries. Regardless of what they offer, if you are in need of help, reach out for it before you need to steal from your local Kmart, because you may end up owing more than what was taken along with an arrest on your record.

2 thoughts on “Financial Hardship and Theft

Leave a Reply

