Home

IMG_20130916_152711It’s 2:40am and I am wide awake. The fourth of July had proved to be a trying one, indeed. It certainly had it’s ups and downs. The family and I had nothing in particular planned for the day, so I made it a point to try to make my day off as enjoyable and carefree as possible. Here lately I have been holing myself up in my room again, and usually this is a clear sign of depression. I know that when I escape to my room, which I am usually not in other than to sleep, I’m feeling down even if subconsciously. Today I figured that if I were going to do that, at least I should try to be somewhat productive. I started working on a story that came to me suddenly. I wasn’t sure where it was going but I put fingers to keyboard and the words poured out into sentences and paragraphs. I made it to almost 9,000 words in a single sitting, almost entirely non-stop.
I have many writing projects, most of which never seem to get finished. However, I read a few months back in a book for writers that this is a common occurrence. The key is to just shelve whatever unfinished project you lose interest or inspiration in and keep writing down whatever comes to mind. You will eventually work your way back to it, or it will inspire another great idea. Writing is a practice that you have to do constantly to grow in skill. So I have taken that advice to heart. I do not get discouraged now when I lose interest in a project, no matter how far into it I am. I know it has a purpose. I became exhausted after so much typing and felt the pain in my wrists growing…I knew it was time to stop. I took a nap and when I woke up it was almost 8:30pm. Steve took the kids swimming earlier, but apparently it was really cold so they didn’t stay long. Somehow he had managed to keep them occupied enough so that I could sleep.

When I did get up I finally ate a real meal, instead of the single candy bar I had I ate while I was writing this new project, and that was the only thing I had eaten all day. So with my stomach full and the kids bored I decided to go for a drive over to Arnold to show them the fireworks, since they are legal in Arnold, and not in SoCo. Zack decided he was going to stay at home so the rest of us went downstairs to the car to find that my license plates had been stolen. Instead of the kids seeing fireworks they spent an evening at home while I spent about 20 minutes on the phone with the police department. I should’ve been furious but the emotion escaped me, I even tried to force it out, because this should be good cause to be furious. However, I had more important things on my mind. License plates aren’t the end of world, and I can get them replaced tomorrow. However, I think that we are long overdue for some good things to come our way. One problem seems to turn into twenty and I am so tired of it.

I ended up watching a movie with the kids before they headed to bed just before midnight. I normally would never let them stay up that late, but after a disappointing day and an even more disappointing evening I didn’t make a big deal of it. At least when the movie went off and I told them it was time for bed, they went. They didn’t beg me to stay up longer, whine, or complain. That I was thankful for. I went over the story that I had written earlier, changed a few things, added some stuff, deleted some stuff. I decided that I will not make it super long. It will be a short novel, or Novella if you will and I will take the chance to submit it out as soon as I feel that it is long enough…and finished. I’m not usually one to rush these things really, I know it takes time, but I have to start making more moves so that I can seize the opportunity of publication. However, the story I started today has up until now gotten most of my attention and now it’s at well over 10,000 words. I have never written so much in one sitting. Feeling quite accomplished, if I do say so myself.

Leave a Reply

